Decalogue : Living As The People Of God


Introduction: What Is The Decalogue? Loving God

1. First Of All
2. Worship
3. Reverence
4. Rest
5. FamilyLoving Neighbor
6. Life
7. Marriage
8. Property
9. Truth
10. Last But Not Least The Decalogue Today
11. Laws For Life


Additional Info
The Ten Commandments have long inspired broad affirmation as a pillar of the Western tradition of law and culture. In more recent times they have been a point of controversy in the public square. But on closer scrutiny the commandments are particularly addressed to the people of God. In the exodus narrative, their revelation on Sinai is framed in symbols of awe-fire, smoke, and blaring trumpets. To this centerpiece of Sinai, David L. Baker brings his extensive research and reflection. Setting each commandment within its ancient Near Eastern setting, he clearly backlights their cultural profile. Then, within their covenantal framework, he illuminates their biblical-theological meaning. Finally, viewing each commandment in light of our contemporary setting, he reflects on how they cut against the cultural grain and shed light on our pathway as the people of God. The result is a focused commentary on the Decalogue. For anyone studying the Decalogue and Old Testament ethics-students or laypeople, teachers or preachers-this book is an indispensable guide to the “Ten Words” of Yahweh delivered at Sinai.


SKU (ISBN): 9780830851690
David Baker
Binding: Trade Paper
Published: 2017
Publisher: InterVarsity Press



There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Decalogue : Living As The People Of God”

Your email address will not be published.